Richmond Volleyball Open Summer League started in summer 2006 within the Mayor of London initiative “Summer of Sport”.  Since that time the league has firmly established itself in the summer calendar of many loyal participants. Aimed at being open to all, flexible and friendly, the league provides an opportunity for people of different ages, gender and sporting ability to play lots of volleyball matches and meet new people.That’s what makes this competition a success.

Day: Monday, weekly
Dates: 15 May 2017 – 17 July 2017
Venue: Old Deer Park (near Pools in the Park)
1st Match: 6.30pm to 7.30pm
2nd Match: 7.30pm to 8.30pm
Level: Open to all, mixed
No. of Courts: up to 3
Cost: All Inclusive for 10 Weeks – £22 (adults) & £15 (u18 juniors) PLEASE NOTE: the league is not on the “pay as you go” basis. One payment is required before your first match. Fee reductions apply for late registrations in July.
Prizes: Top 3 players


Key features:

  • No need to enter a team – Just turn up and play
  • No coaching is offered so some basic volleyball skills are advisable
  • Organisers will create new teams on the day (maybe mixed/men/women)
  • League points awarded on INDIVIDUAL  basis  through the whole duration of the competition
  • Match duration – 3 sets
  • Up to 3 nets provided per evening
  • Weekly league standings update on the web
  • Party and awards presentation on the last night
  • If play is cancelled due to bad weather, it will be a 2 hours notice on the day and all registered players will be contacted via email or mobile text.  Check the forecast here
  • For League Rules click here

If you have further questions about the summer league and to sign up ,  please contact us on

League Table & Results

Player NameTotal Points
Andy G26
Andy C5

Roll of honour

2016Alex GolubkovGordon WuestAli Mohsen
2015David DelanoueKarina KristensenGordon Wuest
2014Sarah KeefeAndre MontenegroAlex Golubkov
2013Eduard JankelovicPeter Golubkov Anna Burakowska & Karina Kristensen
2012Resa TowfighiVicky Malden & Martin Rees
2011Resa TowfighiDavid MorcilloLuis Canela
2010Michael BirminghamMichael Ghelfi & Gordon Wuest
2009Michael GhelfiDan Cleather Renata Zhunusova
2008Marek Sokolowski Andreas Koelblin Henry Szyszko
2007Richard Reynolds Neil Kenyon Hamed Malti

The league organizers would like to thank all the participants for their commitment year after year and league volunteers  for helping set up  volleyball courts every week .